Amendmont

ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

CHAPTER 760-X-1-.24
HARDSHIP DRIVER LICENSE

- 760-X-1-.24 Hardship Driver License.

(1) Definitions:

(a) Hardship Driver License Applicant - A person disqualified
from holding a driver license by state law, who can provide
supporting documentation as requested by the Alabama Law Enforcement
Agency ("ALEA") and who is:

1. Currxently participating in a work release program run,
regulated, or recognized by the Alabama Department of Corrections
("ADOC”) as demonstrated by a letter or other document provided from
the program director or designee; or

2. Currently participating in a community corrections program
(*CCP”) that is recognized by an Alabama circuit, district, or
municipal court and in compliance with the ADOC’s minimum standards
as demonstrated by a letter or other document provided from the CCP
program director or designee; or

3. An individual released from ADOC custody:
(1) upon completion of sentence;

(ii) after being granted parole by the Alabama Bureau of Pardons
and Paroles;

' (1ii) following a period of confinement served in the custody
of the ADOC of up to 45 days (“dunk”) imposed by the Bureau
with return to parole supervision;

(iv) pursuant to mandatory release (Section 15-22-26.2, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended);

(v) as otherwise provided by law, including persons returned
to probation supervision following a period of confinement
(“dunk”) imposed by the sentencing court of up to 45 days
in the custody population of the ADOC; or



4., A person with a suspended or revoked Alabama driver license
who can demonstrate to the reasonable satisfaction of ALEA that
he/she does not pose a risk to public safety and who can fully
demonstrate to the reasonable satisfaction of ALEA that he/she cannot
obtain reasonable transportation. A person whose driver license is
currently suspended or revoked for a serious traffic offense pursuant
to Title 32, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, is considered a risk
to public safety for purposes of this rule.

(b) Hardship Driver License - A Class D driver license with
specified and limited driving privileges. Unless otherwise specified
herein, a hardship driver license shall be subject to all laws,
rules, regulations, restrictions, and limitations that apply to
Class D driver licenses. A hardship driver license strictly limits
the operation of a motor vehicle, to include a motor-driven cycle
or motorcycle with a Class DM 1license, to the following
circumstances:

1, for the purpose of driving to or from the hardship driver
licengsee’s place of employment, 3job training, job readiness
programming, or job interviews;

2. for the purpose of driving to or from a religious service,
affiliated religious function, or a civic event recognized to meet
basic secular needs for full societal participation;

3. for the purpose of driving to or from a sanctioned
educational institution recognized by the State of Alabama where the
individual is a regularly enrolled student; schools or childcare
facilities where a family member or dependent is enrolled; or events
sanctioned by the school or childcare facility where the student,
family member, or dependent is enrolled. This rule shall in no way
diminish or affect the limitations or requirements of Section 15-
20A-17, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, which pertains to adult
sex offenders, or the limitations or requirements of any other state
or federal law, rule, or regulation;

4. for the purpose of driving to or from any court-ordered
program, treatment, community service, or event, including but not
limited to drug or alcohol counseling or other rehabilitation
program; court appearance; supervising probation and parole field
office for reporting or programing; CCP; or work release program;

5. for the purpose of driving to or from a scheduled medical
or mental health treatment appointment, a pharmacy for obtaining
prescriptions, or in the event of a medical emergency;

6. for the purpose of driving to or from purchasing food and
household necessities and performing essential household duties;
and/or



\

7.  for the purpose of driving to and from voting, if eligible.

(c) Disqualified from Holding a Driver License - For purposes
of Section 32-6-12.1, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, a person
with a suspended or revoked Alabama driver license, including but
not limited to suspension or revocation due to criminal conviction,
adjudication, or a finding of delinquency as provided by law or a
person whose driver license has been suspended or revoked as a civil
penalty.

(2) Upon receiving an application for a hardship driver
license from an individual who meets one of the hardship driver
license applicant criteria specified in Alabama Administrative Code
Section 760-X-1-.24(1) (a) and is not excluded from eligibility
pursuant to Alabama Administrative Code Section 760-X-1-.24(7) or
otherwise, ALEA may issue a hardship driver license. Applications
for a hardship driver license must be submitted to the ALEA Driver
License Hardship Unit.

(3) An initial application for a hardship driver license must
include:

(a) the completed Application for Hardship Driver License
Form, available on ALEA’s website and at official ALEA Driver License
Offices throughout the state;

(b) the Alabama driver license number that is suspended or
revoked; )

(c) for individuals meeting the hardship driver 1license
applicant criteria in subsections 760-X-1-.24(1) (a) (1-3), a letter
or document from the applicable authorized official stating that the
applicant is eligible and meets the criteria pursuant to § 32-6-
12.1(a), Code of Alabama, 1975, as amended;

(d) relevant driver information required by ALEA, including
but not limited to that required by Alabama Administrative Code
Sections 760-X-1-.19 and 760-X~1-.20 and any amendments thereto; and

(e) proof of applicable insurance as required by Alabama
Administrative Code Section 760-X-1-,24(6).

(4) Hardship Driver License Validity Period:

(a) A hardship driver license shall have an initial validity
period of four (4) years.



(b) An application to reapply for a hardship driver license
after the initial validity period will be approved upon the hardship
driver licensee's demonstration of good cause to the reasonable
satisfaction of ALEA. Good cause includes but it not limited to
demonstrable reentry efforts of the applicant and/or substantial
progress towards resolving issues preventing the applicant's driver
license reinstatement.

(c) A hardship driver license will be void upon driver license
reinstatement if such reinstatement occurs prior to hardship driver
license expiration.

(5) An individual whose driver license has been revoked is
subject to examination by the Driver License Examiner as required by
law for issuance of a hardship driver license.

(6) An individual whose driver license has been revoked and
who is required to carry SR-22 insurance under applicable law is
required to carry SR-22 insurance while holding a hardship driver
license. Otherwise, an individual is required to carry mandatory
liability insurance for the duration of his or her hardship driver
license as required by Sections 32-7A-3 and 41-27-40 through 41-27-
48, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, or as otherwise required by
law.

(7) A hardship driver license will not be issued:

(a) to a person who has been adjudicated or convicted of
driving under the influence pursuant to Section 32-5A-191, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended;

(b) to a driver who has committed any moving violation
involving or resulting in serious physical injury or death of another
person;

(c) to a person whose driver license is currently suspended or
revoked for a serious traffic offense pursuant to Title 32 of the
Code of Alabama 1975, as amended;

(d) at the discretion of the ALEA Secretary or his/her
designee;

(e) to any person less than 16 years of age;

(f) to a driver who is medically ineligible for a Class D
Driver License as provided by law; and

(g) for commercial driving privileges.

(8) The applicant shall have the right to a review by the ALEA
Hardship Unit upon denial of his/her hardship application.



(9) Hardship Driver License Revocation:

{(a) A hardship driver license shall immediately be revoked as
mandated by Sections 32-5A-195(j) and 32-10-1(b), Code of Alabama
1975, as amended, and Alabama Administrative Code Section 760-X-1-
.07, or as otherwise directed by law.

(b) A hardship driver license shall immediately be revoked for
any serious traffic offense as defined by Title 32, Code of Alabama
1975, as amended, for any four (4) moving violations occurring during
the four(4)-year hardship license period or for non-compliance with
any requirement or limitation provided herein.

() A hardship driver license may be revoked at any time
subject to the discretion of the ALEA Secretary.

(10) Once revoked, a hardship driver license is not eligible
for reinstatement.

(11) Fees: The cost of each hardship driver license issued
shall be fixed at the cost of production and issuance of the hardship
driver license and such cost shall be paid and remitted to ALEA.
Disbursement of fees by ALEA will be in accordance with Class D
driver license fees.

(12) Reinstatement of Driver Licegse:

(a) During the hardship driver license validity period, a
hardship driver licensee may apply with ALEA for driver 1license
reinstatement. Hardship driver licensees are encouraged to apply for
driver license reinstatement as soon as they are eligible and as far
as possible in advance of the expiration of their hardship driver
license.

(b) All applicable laws, rules, and regulations, including
Section 32-6-17, Code of Alabama‘ 1975, as amended, and Alabama
Administrative Code Section 760-x-1-.02, to specifically include
payment of all required fees, will apply to driver 1license
reinstatement for any hardship licensee.

(c) A person whose hardship driver license has been revoked
shall not be eligible to apply for a driver license until at least
six (6) months from the date of the hardship license revocation
regardless of the revocation date of their driver license.

(13) A hardship driver license issued pursuant to these rules
is only valid in the state of Alabama and shall not be transferred
to another state. A hardship driver license shall not be considered
REAL ID compliant under applicable federal law.



(14) Neither ALEA nor its officials, employees, agents, or
assigns shall bear any criminal and/or civil liability for the use
or improper use of a hardship driver license. In addition to the
provisions herein, a hardship driver license applicant shall comply
with eny—and all other existing restrictions and/or requirements
under the law related to the acquisition and use of a driver license
in Alabama; nothing in these rules shall be deemed to supersede or
replace the same.

Author: Samantha J. Naramore

Statutory Authority: §§ 32-2-9, 41-27-40 through 41-27-48,

Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

History: New rule: filed February 14, 2018; effective March 31,
2018. Amended: Filed June 22, 2021, effective August 14, 2021.
Amended: Filed February 18 + 2022, effective April 4, 2022.
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760-X-1-.24 Hardship Driver License.
(1) Definitions:

(a) Hardship Driver License Applicant - A person disqualified
from holding a driver license by state law, who can provide
supporting documentation as requested by the Alabama Law Enforcement
Agency ("ALEA") and who is:

1. Currently participating in a work release program run,
reqgulated, or recognized by the Alabama Department of Corrections
(YADOC”) as demonstrated by a letter or other document provided from
the program director or designee; or

2. Currently participating in a community corrections program
(“CCP”) that is recognized by an Alabama circuit, district, or
municipal court and in compliance with the ADOC’s minimum standards
as demonstrated by a letter or other document provided from the CCP
program director or designee; or

3. An individual released from ADOC custody:
(i) upon completion of sentence;

(ii) after being granted parole by the Alabama Bureau of Pardons
and Paroles;

(iii) following a period of confinement served in the custody
of the ADOC of up to 45 days (“dunk”) imposed by the Bureau
with return to parole supervision;

(iv) pursuant to mandatory release (Section 15-22-26.2, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended);

(v) as otherwise provided by law, including persons returned
to probation supervision following a period of confinement
(“*dunk”) imposed by the sentencing court of up to 45 days
in the custody population of the ADOC; or



4. A person with a suspended or revoked Alabama driver license
who can demonstrate to the reasonable satisfaction of ALEA that
he/she does not pose a risk to public safety and who can fully
demonstrate to the reasonable satisfaction of ALEA that he/she cannot
obtain reasonable transportation. A person whose driver license is
currently suspended or revoked for a serious traffic offense pursuant
to Title 32, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, is considered a risk
to public safety for purposes of this rule.

(b) Hardship Driver License - A Class D driver license with
specified and limited driving privileges. Unless otherwise specified
herein, a hardship driver license shall be subject to all laws,
rules, regulations, restrictions, and limitations that apply to
Class D driver licenses. A hardship driver license strictly limits
the operation of a motor vehicle, to include a motor-driven cycle
or motorcycle with a Class DM 1license, to the following
circumstances:

1. for the purpose of driving to or from the hardship driver
licensee’s place of employment, job training, job readiness
programming, or job interviews;

2. for the purpose of driving to or from a religious service,
affiliated religious function, or a civic event recognized to meet
basic secular needs for full societal participation;

3. for the purpose of driving to or from a sanctioned
educational institution recognized by the State of Alabama where the
individual is a regularly enrolled student; schools or childcare
facilities where a family member or dependent is enrolled; or events
sanctioned by the school or childcare facility where the student,
family member, or dependent is enrolled. This rule shall in no way
diminish or affect the limitations or requirements of Section 15-
20A-17, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, which pertains to adult
sex offenders, or the limitations or requirements of any other state
or federal law, rule, or regulation;

4. for the purpose of driving to or from any court-ordered
program, treatment, community service, or event, including but not
limited to drug or alcohol counseling or other rehabilitation
program; court appearance; supervising probation and parole field
office for reporting or programing; CCP; or work release program;

5. for the purpose of driving to or from a scheduled medical
or mental health treatment appointment, a pharmacy for obtaining
prescriptions, or in the event of a medical emergency;

6. for the purpose of driving to or from purchasing food and
household necessities and performing essential household duties;
and/or



7. for the purpose of driving to and from voting, if eligible.

(c) Disqualified from Holding a Driver License - For purposes
of Section 32-6-12.1, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, a person
with a suspended or revoked Alabama driver license, including but
not limited to suspension or revocation due to criminal conviction,
adjudication, or a finding of delinquency as provided by law or a
person whose driver license has been suspended or revoked as a civil
penalty.

(2) Upon receiving an application for a hardship driver
license from an individual who meets one of the hardship driver
license applicant criteria specified in Alabama Administrative Code
Section 760-X-1-.24(1)(a) and is not excluded from eligibility
pursuant to Alabama Administrative Code Section 760-X-1-.24(7) or
otherwise, ALEA may issue a hardship driver license. Applications
for a hardship driver license must be submitted to the ALEA Driver
License Hardship Unit.

(3) An initial application for a hardship driver license must
include:

(a) the completed Application for Hardship Driver License
Form, available on ALEA’s website and at official ALEA Driver License
Offices throughout the state;

(b) the Alabama driver license number that is suspended or
revoked;

(c) for individuals meeting the hardship driver license
applicant criteria in subsections 760-X-1-.24(1) (a)(1-3), a letter
or document from the applicable authorized official stating that the
applicant is eligible and meets the criteria pursuant to § 32-6-
12.1(a), Code of Alabama, 1975, as amended;

(d) relevant driver information required by ALEA, including
but not limited to that required by Alabama Administrative Code
Sections 760-X-1-.19 and 760-X-1-.20 and any amendments thereto; and

_(e) proof of applicable insurance as required by Alabama
Administrative Code Section 760-X-1-.24(6).

(4) Hardship Driver License Validity Period:

(a) A hardship driver license shall have an initial validity
period of four (4) years.



(b) An application to reapply for a hardship driver license
after the initial validity period will be approved upon the hardship
driver licensee's demonstration of good cause to the reasonable
satisfaction of ALEA. Good cause includes but it not limited to
demonstrable reentry efforts of the applicant and/or substantial
progress towards resolving issues preventing the applicant's driver
license reinstatement.

(c) A hardship driver license will be void upon driver license
reinstatement if such reinstatement occurs prior to hardship driver
license expiration.

(5) An individual whose driver license has been revoked is
subject to examination by the Driver License Examiner as required by
law for issuance of a hardship driver license.

(6) An individual whose driver license has been revoked and
who is required to carry SR-22 insurance under applicable law is
required to carry SR-22 insurance while holding a hardship driver
license. Otherwise, an individual is required to carry mandatory
liability insurance for the duration of his or her hardship driver
license as required by Sections 32-7A-3 and 41-27-40 through 41-27-
48, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, or as otherwise required by
law.

(7) A hardship driver license will not be issued:

(a) to a person who has been adjudicated or convicted of
driving under the influence pursuant to Section 32-5A-191, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended;

(b) to a driver who has committed any moving violation
involving or resulting in serious physical injury or death of another
person;

(c) to a person whose driver license is currently suspended or
revoked for a serious traffic offense pursuant to Title 32 of the
Code of Alabama 1975, as amended;

(d) at the discretion of the ALEA Secretary or his/her
designee;

(e) to any person less than 16 years of age;

(f) to a driver who is medically ineligible for a Class D
Driver License as provided by law; and

(g) for commercial driving privileges.

(8) The applicant shall have the right to a review by the ALEA
Hardship Unit upon denial of his/her hardship application.



(9) Hardship Driver License Revocation:

(a) A hardship driver license shall immediately be revoked as
mandated by Sections 32-5A-195(j) and 32-10-1(b), Code of Alabama
1975, as amended, and Alabama Administrative Code Section 760-X-1-
.07, or as otherwise directed by law.

(b) A hardship driver license shall immediately be revoked for
any serious traffic offense as defined by Title 32, Code of Alabama
1975, as amended, for any four (4) moving violations occurring during
the four(4)-year hardship license period or for non-compliance with
any requirement or limitation provided herein.

(c) A hardship driver license may be revoked at any time
subject to the discretion of the ALEA Secretary.

(10) Once revoked, a hardship driver license is not eligible
for reinstatement.

(11) Fees: The cost of each hardship driver license issued
shall be fixed at the cost of production and issuance of the hardship
driver license and such cost shall be paid and remitted to ALEA.
Disbursement of fees by ALEA will be in accordance with Class D
driver license fees.

(12) Reinstatement of Driver License:

(a) During the hardship driver license validity period, a
hardship driver licensee may apply with ALEA for driver license
reinstatement. Hardship driver licensees are encouraged to apply for
driver license reinstatement as soon as they are eligible and as far
as possible in advance of the expiration of their hardship driver
license.

(b) All applicable laws, rules, and regulations, including
Section 32-6-17, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, and Alabama
Administrative Code Section 760-x-1-.02, to specifically include
payment of all required fees, will apply to driver license
reinstatement for any hardship licensee.

(c) A person whose hardship driver license has been revoked
shall not be eligible to apply for a driver license until at least
six (6) months from the date of the hardship license revocation
regardless of the revocation date of their driver license.

(13) A hardship driver license issued pursuant to these rules
is only valid in the state of Alabama and shall not be transferred
to another state. A hardship driver license shall not be considered
REAL ID compliant under applicable federal law.



(14) Neither ALEA nor its officials, employees, agents, or
assigns shall bear any criminal and/or civil liability for the use
or improper use of a hardship driver license. In addition to the
provisions herein, a hardship driver license applicant shall comply
with amy—and all other existing restrictions and/or requirements
under the law related to the acquisition and use of a driver license
in Alabama; nothing in these rules shall be deemed to supersede or
replace the same.

Author: Samantha J. Naramore

Statutory Authority: §§ 32-2-9, 41-27-40 through 41-27-48,

Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

History: New rule: filed February 14, 2018; effective March 31,
2018. Amended: Filed June 22, 2021, effective August 14, 2021.
Amended: Filed February , 2022, effective April 4, 2022.
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