
INTRASTATE EXEMPTIONS 

 

Intrastate Companies operating straight trucks and trucks 
with trailers having Gross Vehicle Weight Ratings (G.V.W.R.) 
or Gross Combination Weight Ratings (G.C.W.R.) of 26,000 
pounds or less (other than passenger buses and hazardous 
material or hazardous waste haulers) are exempt from all 

Federal Regulations while operating within the State of 
Alabama. 

 
Intrastate companies operating any vehicle with G.V.W.R. or 

G.C.W.R. of 26,001 pounds or more will be required to 
comply with all Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. 

~~~~~ 

 
 

INTRASTATE FARMER EXEMPTIONS 

 
The following represents various exemptions from Title 32-9 

(size/weight laws) and 49 CFR (Motor Carrier Safety Regulations) 
afforded Intrastate farm vehicle drivers in the State of Alabama.  A 

farm vehicle driver is defined as a person who drives a commercial 

vehicle (Manufacturer’s GVWR equal to or greater than 10,001 lbs.) 
that is: 

 
� 1.  controlled and operated by a farmer; and 

� 2.  used to transport either agricultural products, farm 
machinery, farm supplies or all of these things to or from a 

farm; and 
� 3.  not used in the operations of a common or contract carrier; 

and 
� 4.  used with 150 miles of the farmer’s farm.  

 
This definition includes the farmer, his family members and his 

employees (farm hands). 

 

Title 32-9-20(4)(6) states that “Two and three axle vehicles being 

used exclusively for the purpose of transporting agricultural 

commodities or products to and from a farm and for agricultural 

purposes relating to the operation and maintenance of a farm by 

any farmer may not be made to conform to the axle requirements 

of paragraph (4)(a) of this section (20,000 lbs per axle) or the 
gross weight requirements of paragraph (4)(c) of this section 

(computed gross weight table).” 



 

There are no size/weight exemptions afforded farm vehicles on the 

interstate highway system.  

 

There are no size/weight exemptions afforded farm vehicles larger 

than three axles (straight trucks or combinations). 

 

There is no size/weight exemption for any class of vehicle with regard 

to weight restricted bridges.  

 

Intrastate farmers operating straight trucks and trucks used with a 

trailer other than hazardous material, having a G.V.W.R or G.C.W.R. of 

more than 26,000 pounds operating within 150 miles from the farm 

will also be treated as exempt from all Federal Regulations while 

operating within the State of Alabama except for the following: 

 

• Drivers must be 18 years of age to operate the vehicles. (49 CFR 
391.67)  

• Inspection, repair and maintenance of vehicle, including driver 
vehicle inspection reports if more than one commercial vehicle is 

owned.(49 CFR 396) 
• The driver must meet physical qualifications to operate a 

combination vehicle. (391.67) (Medical Cards 49 CFR 391.43) 
 

CDL, USDOT marking or USDOT registration will not be required for 
farm-owned vehicles operating within 150 air miles of the farm. 

 
Hours of service rules for drivers (49 CFR 395) will not be applied to 

drivers transporting agricultural or farm supplies for agricultural 
purposes in Alabama at any time during the year. 

 

Farm Truck/Truck Tractor Farm tag restrictions can be found at the 

following link: 

http://revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/mvrules/51442.pdf 

 

NO FARM VEHICLE DRIVER IS EXEMPT FROM THE HAZMAT 
REGULATIONS IF CARRYING AMOUNTS OF HAZARDOUS MATERIAL 

REQUIRING PLACARDING AND MAY NOT CLAIM A FARM EXEMPTION 
UNDER 49CFR. 

 
 
 
Motor Carrier Safety Unit 

334-242-4395 
www.alea.gov/mc 
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ENROLLED, An Act,4

To amend Section 32-9A-2 of the Code of Alabama5

1975, as amended by Act 2007-298 of the 2007 Regular Session6

(Acts 2007, p. 536), relating to commercial motor vehicles and7

providing that certain federal motor carrier regulations are8

applicable to commercial motor vehicles operating in the9

state; to delete certain exemptions operated in intrastate10

commerce under certain conditions; and to further provide for11

an exemption for commercial motor vehicles having a gross12

vehicle weight or combination weight of 26,000 pounds or less13

operated in intrastate commerce except for commercial motor14

vehicles used to transport passengers under certain conditions15

or hazardous waste.16

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:17

Section 1. Section 32-9A-2 of the Code of Alabama18

1975, as amended, is further amended to read as follows:19

"§32-9A-2.20

"(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b),21

no person may operate a commercial motor vehicle in this22

state, or fail to maintain required records or reports, in23

violation of the federal motor carrier safety regulations as24

prescribed by the U.S. Department of Transportation, 49 C.F.R.25
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Part 107, Parts 171-180, Parts 382-384, and Parts 390-399 and1

as they may be amended in the future. Except as otherwise2

provided herein, this chapter shall not be construed to repeal3

or supersede other laws relating to the operation of motor4

vehicles.5

"No law enforcement officer may make an arrest or6

issue a citation under this chapter unless he or she has7

satisfactorily completed, as a part of his or her training,8

the basic course of instruction developed by the Commercial9

Vehicle Safety Alliance. Those law enforcement officers10

authorized to enforce this chapter shall annually receive in11

service training related to commercial motor vehicle12

operations, including, but not limited to, training in current13

federal motor carrier safety regulations, safety inspection14

procedures, and out-of-service criteria. The annual training15

requirements shall be designated and specified by the16

director.17

"(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) or any other18

provision of law to the contrary:19

"(1) Amendments to the hours of service regulations20

promulgated by the U.S. Department of Transportation at 6821

Federal Register 22456, April 28, 2003 and effective June 27,22

2003, shall not apply to utility service vehicles as defined23

at 49 C.F.R. 395.2, not including television cable or24

community antenna service vehicles, which are owned or25
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operated by utilities regulated by the Public Service1

Commission or electric cooperatives and which are engaged2

solely in intrastate commerce in this state until June 27,3

2006, provided the amendments are valid and remain in effect4

as of that date. Hours of service regulations which are5

applicable in this state immediately prior to June 27, 2003,6

shall remain applicable to utility service vehicles engaged7

solely in intrastate commerce in this state until June 27,8

2006. If the U.S. Department of Transportation issues an9

official finding that this provision may result in the loss of10

federal Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program funding, the11

department may promulgate regulations providing for earlier12

implementation of the amendments to the federal hours of13

service regulations. If federal law or regulations are amended14

at any time to exempt utility service vehicles from the hours15

of service requirements, any exemption shall be effective in16

this state immediately for the duration of the federal17

exemption.18

"(2) The department may promulgate regulations19

suspending the effective date for up to three years after20

adoption of any motor carrier safety regulation by the U.S.21

Department of Transportation as applied to vehicles engaged22

solely in intrastate commerce in this state, provided that the23

suspension does not result in the loss of federal Motor24

Carrier Safety Assistance Program funding.25
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"(3) The department may enter into agreements with1

state and local emergency management agencies and private2

parties establishing procedures for complying with 49 U.S.C.3

Section 31502(e) and federal regulations promulgated thereto4

at 49 C.F.R. Section 390.23 which provide an exemption from5

the hours of service regulations during certain emergencies.6

"(4) The department may promulgate regulations7

granting any waiver, variance, or exemption permitted under 498

U.S.C. Section 31104(h) and federal regulations promulgated9

thereto at 49 C.F.R. Sections 350.339-350.345, provided that10

the waiver, variance, or exemption does not result in the loss11

of federal Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program funding and12

does not take effect unless approved by the U.S. Department of13

Transportation if that approval is required.14

"(5) A commercial motor vehicle operated in15

intrastate commerce which does not equal or exceed 26,00116

pounds, except a motor vehicle, regardless of weight, which is17

designed or used to transport 16 or more passengers, including18

the driver, or which is used in the transportation of19

hazardous materials and required to be placarded pursuant to20

49 CFR Part 172, Subpart F, shall be exempt from the federal21

motor carrier regulations otherwise made applicable in this22

state pursuant to subsection (a). For purposes of this23

subdivision, "commercial motor vehicle" means a commercial24

motor vehicle as defined in 49 CFR 390.5.25
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"(6) For purposes of those provisions of 49 C.F.R.1

Section 395 providing for exemptions from the hours of service2

requirements of that section respecting the operation of motor3

vehicles for the transportation of agricultural commodities as4

contemplated in that section, the planting and harvesting5

season for this state is defined by the Legislature as the6

period from April 1 of each calendar year to March 31 of the7

next succeeding calendar year.8

"(c) Nothing in this section as amended by the act9

adding this language shall be interpreted to exempt any person10

from the obligations to operate a motor vehicle in a safe and11

proper manner or to observe the rules of the road, nor shall12

any provision of this section as amended by the act adding13

this language be interpreted to immunize any person from civil14

liability for actionable conduct.15

Section 2. All laws or parts of laws which conflict16

with this act are repealed.17

Section 3. This act shall become effective18

immediately following its passage and approval by the19

Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.20
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