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Adult Sex Offender Responsibilities Acknowledgement                   
Full Requirements 

The Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act1 (“Act”) places requirements and 
restrictions on adult sex offenders. This document summarizes the responsibilities of an adult sex offender within 
Alabama. The provisions of the Act are applicable without regard to when the crime or crimes were committed, 
or when the duty to register pursuant to the Act arose. 
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To complete registration, an adult sex offender must acknowledge the following responsibilities: 
 

 Initial Provision 

 The offender shall register all required registration information listed in §15-20A-7 at least 30 days 
prior to release or immediately upon notice of release if release is less than 30 days. 

 The offender is required to register all required registration information within three (3) business 
days of release, or conviction if the offender is not incarcerated, with local law enforcement2 in 
each county where the offender intends to reside, be employed or attend school. 

 The offender has seven (7) days from release to comply with the residency restrictions listed in 
Section 15-20A-11(a). 

 The offender is required to register within three (3) business days of establishing a new residence, 
accepting employment or beginning school attendance with local law enforcement in each county 
in which the offender establishes residence, accepts employment or begins school attendance. 

 The offender is required to register within three (3) business days of transferring or terminating a 
residence, employment or school attendance with local law enforcement in each county in which 
the offender is terminating residence, employment or school attendance. 

 The offender shall appear in person within three (3) business days of any name change to update 
the information with local law enforcement in each county in which the offender is required to 
register. No offender may change his or her name unless the change is incident to a change in 
marital status or necessary to effect the exercise of his or her religion. 

 Whenever an offender changes any required registration information, the offender must appear in 
person and update the required registration information with local law enforcement in each county 
in which the offender resides; however, any changes in telephone numbers, email addresses, 
instant message addresses, or other on-line identifiers or internet service providers may be 
reported to local law enforcement in person, electronically, or telephonically as required by the 
local law enforcement agency. 

                                                           
1 §§15-20A-1ff, Code of Alabama 1985, as amended by Act 2015-463 
2 Local Law Enforcement – The sheriff of the county and, if the location subject to registration is within the corporate limits of any municipality, the chief 

of police. 
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 Initial Provision 

 The offender shall not establish a residence, maintain a residence after release or conviction, or 
establish any other living accommodation within 2,000 feet of the property line of any school, child 
care facility or resident camp facility. 

 The offender shall not establish a residence, maintain a residence after release or conviction, or 
establish any other living accommodation within 2,000 feet of the property line on which any of his 
or her former victims or the victims' immediate family members reside. 

 The offender shall not establish a residence, maintain a residence or any other living 
accommodation or have any overnight visit where a person under the age of 18 years of age resides, 
except as elsewhere provided by law in Section 15-20A-11. 

 An offender who no longer has a fixed residence is considered homeless and must report such 
change in person within three (3) business days to local law enforcement. The offender must then 
follow all provisions in §15-20A-12 concerning homeless sex offenders, including weekly 
registration. 

 The offender shall not apply for, accept, or maintain employment or vocation or volunteer at any 
school, childcare facility, mobile vending business that provides services primarily to children, or 
any other business or organization that provides services primarily to children. 

 The offender shall not apply for, accept, or maintain employment or volunteer for any employment 
or vocation within 2,000 feet of the property on which a school or childcare facility is located unless 
otherwise exempted pursuant to Sections 15-20A-24 and 15-20A-25. 

 The offender, if convicted of an offense involving a child, shall not shall apply for, accept, or 
maintain employment or vocation or volunteer for any employment or vocation within 500 feet of 
a playground, park, athletic field or facility, or any other business or facility having a principal 
purpose of caring for, educating, or entertaining minors. 

 The offender shall appear in person and register all required registration information with local law 
enforcement in each county where the offender resides during the offender’s birth month and 
every three months thereafter for the duration of the offender’s life. 

 All out-of-state offenders must register in person within three (3) business days upon entering this 
state to establish a residence, begin employment, or begin school attendance with local law 
enforcement in each county of residence, employment, or school attendance and must provide a 
certified copy of their conviction within 30 days of the initial registration. 

 Prior to temporarily leaving his or her county of residence for a period of three (3) or more 
consecutive days, the offender shall report such information to the sheriff within the county of 
residence, in person within three (3) business days prior to leaving, and complete a travel permit. 

 The offender must report in person to the sheriff in each county of residence at least 21 days prior 
to traveling outside the United States of America and complete a travel permit. 

 Upon returning to the county of residence after travel, the offender must report to the sheriff in 
each county of residence within three (3) business days. 

 The offender shall not knowingly come within 100 feet of any of his or her former victims unless 
otherwise exempted pursuant to Section 15-20A-16. 

 The offender shall not contact, directly or indirectly, in person or through others, by phone, mail, 
or electronic means, any former victim unless otherwise exempted pursuant to Section 15-20A-16. 

 No offender shall make any harassing communication, directly or indirectly, in person or through 
others, by phone or electronic means to the victim or any immediate family member of the victim. 
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 Initial Provision 

 The offender, if convicted of a sex offense involving a minor, shall not loiter within 500 feet of the 
property line of any property on which there is a school, childcare facility, playground, park, athletic 
field or facility, school bus stop, college or university, or any other business or facility having a 
principal purpose of caring for, educating, or entertaining minors. 

 The offender, if convicted of a sex offense involving a minor, shall not enter onto the property of a 
K-12 school while school is in session or attend any K-12 school activity unless the offender has 
previously notified the principal of the school and meets all the requirements of §15-20A-17(b). 

 The offender shall obtain and have in his or her possession at all times a valid driver license or 
identification card issued by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. This driver license or 
identification card shall bear a designation that enables law enforcement officers to identify the 
licensee as a sex offender. The offender shall obtain this within fourteen (14) days of his or her 
initial registration following release, initial registration upon entering this state to become a 
resident, or immediately following his or her next registration after July 1, 2011. 

 Whenever the offender obtains such driver license or identification card, the offender shall 
relinquish to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency any other driver license or identification card 
previously issued to him or her which does not bear a designation that enables law enforcement 
officers to identify the licensee as a sex offender. 

 The offender shall not mutilate, mar, change, reproduce, alter, deface, disfigure, or otherwise 
change the form of any driver license or identification card issued to him or her which bears any 
designation that enables law enforcement officers to identify the licensee as a sex offender. 

 The offender shall pay a registration fee of $10 to each registering agency where the offender 
resides beginning with the first quarterly registration on or after July 1, 2011 and at each quarterly 
registration thereafter.  

 Each time the offender terminates his or her residence and establishes a new residence, he or she 
shall pay a registration fee of $10 to each registering agency where the offender establishes a new 
residence.  

 Any offender convicted of violating the Act shall be subject to $250 fine. 
 

By signing below, I acknowledge that I have read the above information and responsibilities and that I am aware 
of all that is required of me under the Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act. If I fail 
to comply with any provision of the Act, I understand that I may be charged with a Class C felony in Alabama. 
Additionally, I have been advised and understand that under the Act and Federal law, I must register as a sex 
offender. I understand that I must register and keep my registration current in each jurisdiction in which I reside, 
in each jurisdiction where I am employed, and in each jurisdiction where I am a student. I have been advised and 
understand that failure to comply with these obligations subjects me to prosecution for failure to register or 
update my registration under Federal law, 18 U.S.C. 2250, punishable by up to 10 years of imprisonment. 
 

Offender   

  Registering Agency 

   
   
Signature  Officer’s Signature 

   

Printed Name  Officers Printed Name 

   

Date  Date 
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