Skip Navigation Links

Marine Accident Report


The cost for a boat crash report is $10, payable by check, certified check or money order.

Send written request to: Alabama Marine Patrol P.O. Box 301451, Montgomery, AL 36130 (Attention: Boating Accident Records).

Requests must include:
  • Date of crash
  • Body of water on which it occurred
  • Person(s) involved
  • Who you represent. (If you are not an insurance agent or law firm, you need only include on whose behalf you are requesting the report.)

Make check, money order, cashier’s check or certified check payable to Alabama Marine Patrol.

** PLEASE NOTE** It takes at least two weeks to investigate and/or process a boat crash report, depending on the circumstances surrounding the incident.

220-6-.06 of the Alabama Laws and Regulations states a boating accident should be submitted within 10 days from the date of the accident. This refers to notification as an immediate report to the Marine Patrol Office and the Coast Guard Reporting System. This does not mean a report will be available within that time period. You may contact Mendy Moore with the Alabama Marine Patrol at melynda.moore@alea.gov, 334.517.2950 or 800.272.7930 with questions concerning these records.