Driver License

Alabama Law Enforcement Driver License Department

Driver License Division is responsible for testing and maintaining records on Alabama’s licensed drivers. 

These records include:

  • crash reports,
  • traffic arrest forms,
  • driver license applications, and
  • traffic violation convictions.

In addition to administering the written and road skills driver license examinations to commercial and noncommercial drivers, the division is responsible for the application of penalties that may result in the revocation or suspension of a driver license.

Since 2010, the Division has offered STAR I.D., Alabama’s version of the federal government’s REAL ID.

Contact Driver License Offices:

Birmingham 205.252.7445
Decatur 256.351.4665
Dothan 334.983.5616
Huntsville 256.539.0681
Jacksonville 256.435.7006
Mobile 251.660.2330
Montgomery 334.274.0306
Opelika 334.742.9986
Selma 334.875.1341
Sheffield 256.383.2923
Tuscaloosa 205.553.0729


CDL Headquarters 334.242.3427
Cullman 256.775.4822
Decatur 256.751.0708
Dothan 334.983.1156
Evergreen 251.578.5726
Hamilton 205.921.4743
Huntsville 256.539.0681
Jacksonville 256.435.7006
Mobile 251.660.2330
Montgomery 334.274.0307
Opelika 334.742.9986
Sheffield 256.383.2923
Sumiton 205.648.2991
Tuscaloosa 205.553.0729


Birmingham 205.252.0426
Dothan 334.983.5616
Foley 251.972.8597
Huntsville 256.536.2365
Jacksonville 256.782.1322
Mobile 251.660.2330 ext. 5
Montgomery 334.242.4259
Opelika 334.737.1665
Sheffield 256.383.9991
Tuscaloosa 205.553.3511


New Days of Service

Starting April 1st, new days of service will be added to the below Driver License Office schedules:
County City New Day
Baldwin Bay Minette Wednesday
Chambers Lafayette Thursday
Cherokee Centre Tuesday
Choctaw Butler Wednesday
Clay Ashland Thursday
Cleburne Heflin Wednesday
Coosa Rockford Tuesday
Crenshaw* Luverne* Thursday
Fayette Fayette Tuesday
Franklin Russellville Monday
Geneva Geneva Friday
Henry Abbeville Wednesday
Lamar Vernon Thursday
Lawrence Moulton Tuesday
Randolph Wedowee Tuesday
St. Clair Ashville Tuesday
Sumter Livingston Tuesday
Tallapoosa Alex City Wednesday
Washington Chatom Tuesday
Wilcox Camden Tuesday
Winston Double Springs Wednesday
*Starting March 7th

New Day of Service

Starting April 6th, the following Driver License Offices will be open on Saturdays: Birmingham, Mobile, and Opelika
Birmingham 7 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Mobile 7 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Opelika 7 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Dothan Reinstatement Office

Closing at 3:00 PM on May 17th

Opelika Reinstatement Office

Closed May 17th

Jacksonville Reinstatement Office

Closed on May 17th

Linden Driver License Office

Closing at 2:30 PM on May 17th, 23rd, and 31st

Fort Payne Driver License Office

Closing at 11:30 AM on May 21st

Scottsboro Driver License Office

Closing at 11:30 AM on May 21st

Tuscaloosa Reinstatement Office

Closed on May 23rd

Lafayette Driver License Office

Closed on June 6th