
Alabama residents unable to visit an issuing office and individuals who are out of state for one of the reasons listed below may 
complete the following information to request a renewal or duplicate of their Driver License or Non-driver ID by mail, if they  have 
obtained an Alabama Driver License / ID card with their picture and signature in the last four years. A Renewal License may be 
applied for 180 days prior to current expiration date. 

This request is for a: (please select) Duplicate Renewal
Full Name Last four digits of Social Security Number 

Alabama Driver License / ID Number Expiration Date Date of Birth 

Update the following 
Information 

 No changes to
current information

Height Weight Organ Donor (check one) 

Yes No 
Alabama Residence Street Address (do not use a PO Box) Apartment or Suite # 

City Zip Code County 

If you are registered to vote, a change of address for your Alabama residence will update your voter registration record unless you check this box. 

Daytime Phone Number Email Address [  ] Check if you would like a photocopy of the temporary license/ID emailed to you

Reason for Mail-in
Request

Mailing in Care of 
(if applicable)

Mailing Address 
Address Apartment or Suite # 

City Province/Territory/State Country Postal Code 

Additional Comments

Supporting documents to be included with form: 
[  ] Military   military orders. 
[  ] Student: Enclose current full-time enrollment verification.
[  ] Employee: Enclose a letter, on letterhead, from your employer verifying you are temporarily out of state on assignment 
(dependents may be referenced, if applicable). 
[  ] Missionary: Enclose a letter, on letterhead, from your church or sponsor verifying you are serving out of state. 
[  ] Under a Doctor’s Care: Enclose a letter, on the doctor’s letterhead or notepad, verifying you are receiving medical treatment out of 
state. If you are caring for someone out of state, have the doctor verify you are the individual's primary caregiver. 
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Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License for Alabama Drivers Temporarily Out of State 

ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

Driver License Division 

[  ] [  ]

[ ] Out of State Full-time Student [ ] Out of State Employment

[ ] Under a doctor's care / Serving as 
    caregiver out of state

[ ] In-State / Unable to visit issuing office

Please NOTE: 
• Original Star ID cannot be added by mail.
• For name changes: Include photocopies of legal name change documentation and updated social security card.
• Foreign Nationals: Include front and back photocopies of all authorized presence documents, or Certificate of Naturalization (if applicable).
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[ ] Military 
service 
member or 
dependent 

 

: Enclose 1) a copy of military picture ID card (required for service members and dependents) and 2)

 
[ ] Military service member or dependent 
 

 [ ] Missionary serving out of state  



ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

Driver License Division 

FEES - Money Orders or Cashier's Checks ONLY. Make payable to the 

Mail this form, supporting documents 
and a payment to: 

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency 
Driver License Division 

PO Box 1471 
Montgomery AL 36102-1471 

$31.25 Duplicate - Any License / ID
$36.25 Renewal - Standard License / ID (Including Motorcycle, Vessel) CDL Class C
$56.25 Renewal - CDL Class B
$66.25 Renewal - CDL Class A
$5.00   Additional fee to add Motorcycle or Vessel Endorsement to license. 
(Must include a photocopy of your Boater's Certificate or Motorcycle Safety 
Foundation course completion certificate.)

The decision to register to vote is yours. If you decide to register to vote, the office at which you are submitting 
this application will remain confidential and will be used only for voter registration purposes. If you decline to 
register, your decision will remain confidential and will be used only for voter registration purposes. All 
information in the “Driver Information” section on the previous page must be filled out. 

Deadline for submitting application: Voter registration and updating of voter records is closed during the 14 days 
prior to each election in Alabama. 

Completion of the following information is optional 

Address where 

you last 
registered to 

vote 

Street Address City County State Zip Code 

Voter Declaration - Read and Sign Under Penalty of Perjury 

 I am a U.S. citizen

 I am a legal resident of the State of Alabama

 I will be at least 18 years of age on or before

Election Day

 I am not barred from voting by reason of a

disqualifying felony conviction

 I have not been judged "mentally

incompetent" in a court of law

I solemnly swear or affirm to support and defend the constitution of the 

United States and the State of Alabama and further disavow any belief 

or affiliation with any  group  which advocates  the  overthrow  of the 

governments of the United States or the State of Alabama by unlawful 

means and that the information contained herein is true, so help me 

God. 

If you falsely sign this statement, you can be convicted and imprisoned for up to five years. 

Voter Signature Date 
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Voter Registration 

Please send me a duplicate or renewal of my driver license / ID card with the updated information listed
above. The information I have provided in this application is true and accurate. 

Driver Signature Date 

ALEA Driver License Division. NO CASH OR PERSONAL CHECKS accepted.


