INTRASTATE EXEMPTIONS

Intrastate Companies operating straight trucks and trucks with trailers having Gross Vehicle Weight Ratings (G.V.W.R.) or Gross Combination Weight Ratings (G.C.W.R.) of 26,000 pounds or less (other than passenger buses and hazardous material or hazardous waste haulers) are exempt from all Federal Regulations while operating within the State of Alabama. Intrastate companies operating any vehicle with G.V.W.R. or G.C.W.R. of 26,001 pounds or more will be required to comply with all Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.

INTRASTATE FARMER EXEMPTIONS

The following represents various exemptions from Title 32-9 (size/weight laws) and 49 CFR (Motor Carrier Safety Regulations) afforded Intrastate farm vehicle drivers in the State of Alabama. A farm vehicle driver is defined as a person who drives a commercial vehicle (Manufacturer's GVWR equal to or greater than 10,001 lbs.) that is:

- controlled and operated by a farmer; and
- used to transport either agricultural products, farm machinery, farm supplies or all of these things to or from a farm; and
- not used in the operations of a common or contract carrier; and
- used with 150 miles of the farmer's farm.

This definition includes the farmer, his family members and his employees (farm hands).

Title 32-9-20(4)(6) states that "Two and three axle vehicles being used exclusively for the purpose of transporting agricultural commodities or products to and from a farm and for agricultural purposes relating to the operation and maintenance of a farm by any farmer may not be made to conform to the axle requirements of paragraph (4)(a) of this section (20,000 lbs per axle) or the gross weight requirements of paragraph (4)(c) of this section (computed gross weight table)."

There are no size/weight exemptions afforded farm vehicles on the interstate highway system. There are no size/weight exemptions afforded farm vehicles larger than three axles (straight trucks or combinations).

There is no size/weight exemption for any class of vehicle with regard to weight restricted bridges. Intrastate farmers operating straight trucks and trucks used with a trailer other than hazardous material, having a G.V.W.R or G.C.W.R. of more than 26,000 pounds operating within 150 miles from the farm will also be treated as exempt from all Federal Regulations while operating within the State of Alabama except for the following:

- Drivers must be 18 years of age to operate the vehicles. (49 CFR391.67)
- Inspection, repair and maintenance of vehicle, including driver vehicle inspection reports if more than one commercial vehicle is owned.(49 CFR 396)
- The driver must meet physical qualifications to operate a combination vehicle. (391.67) (Medical Cards 49 CFR 391.43)

CDL, USDOT marking or USDOT registration will not be required for farm-owned vehicles operating within 150 air miles of the farm. Hours of service rules for drivers (49 CFR 395) will not be applied to drivers transporting agricultural or farm supplies for agricultural purposes in Alabama at any time during the year.

*NO FARM VEHICLE DRIVER IS EXEMPT FROM THE HAZMAT REGULATIONS IF CARRYING AMOUNTS OF HAZARDOUS MATERIAL REQUIRING PLACARDING AND MAY NOT CLAIM A FARM EXEMPTION UNDER 49CFR.