## ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY



## Think Smart Before You Start Spring Break



## 2023 Safety Reminders

Avoid driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you plan on consuming alcohol, designate a sober driver in advance to get you home safely.

Remain attentive around large vehicles and semi-trucks. Large vehicles such as semi-trucks command a heavy pres-ence on interstates. They have limited maneuverability, longer stopping distances and bigger blind spots.

**Expect traffic heavier than usual.** Adjust travel plans to accommodate busier roadways and waterways and leave a bit earlier. Avoid speeding, following vehicles too closely and other dangerous behaviors on roadways.

**Prepare your vehicle.** Get your vehicle's tires, brakes, exterior lights, battery, air filters, wipers and fluid levels checked before you a leave for a trip. Keep an emergency kit available. (Inflated spare tire, first aid kit, jumper cables, phone charger, etc.)

**Buckle up – no matter how short your trip.** Ensure all the vehicle's occupants are buckled up and children are utilizing a child restraint system. Car seats and boosters provide protection for infants and children in a crash, yet car crashes are a leading cause of death for children ages 1 to 13.

**Don't follow other vehicles too closely.** "Following too close" is one of the leading contributing factors behind crashes. Maintaining situational awareness and operating under a defensive driving posture is critical in avoiding crashes especially during high traffic periods.

**Don't drive distracted.** Avoid talking or texting on your phone, eating and drinking, talking to people in your vehicle, fiddling with the stereo, entertainment or navigation system.

## Alabama's Graduated Driver License Law:

16-year-old drivers may not have more than one non-family passenger in the car with them at any time.

They also cannot operate a motor vehicle between midnight and 6 a.m., unless they are:

- 1. Accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
- 2. Accompanied by a licensed adult, 21 years of age, or older, with parental consent
- 3. Going to or from work
- 4. Going to or from a school-sponsored event
- 5. Going to or from a religious-sponsored event
- 6. Driving due to a medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency

Alabama's GDL Law also applies to 17-year-old drivers licensed less than six months.





