

ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

201 South Union Street, Suite 300 | P.O. Box 304115 | Montgomery, AL 36130-4115 Phone 334.676.6000 | www.alea.gov



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 1, 2022

## ALEA's Marine Patrol Division Announces Additional Fall Boating Basics and License Courses

**MONTGOMERY** – On Tuesday, Nov.1, the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency's (ALEA) Marine Patrol Division announced additional dates for the fall season's Boating Basics and License Course that will be taught by Troopers within ALEA's Marine Patrol Division.

ALEA's Director of Public Safety Colonel Jimmy Helms said, "As the seasons continue to change, citizens begin to transition to various outdoor activities they enjoy across our great state. Troopers within our Marine Patrol Division have found this time of the year provides the perfect opportunity to share important boater safety information, ensuring everyone is fully prepared to enjoy all Alabama's waterways once the temperature warms back up."

Corporal Tyler Kane from ALEA's Marine Patrol Division's Southern District added, "Our Marine Patrol Troopers are excellent instructors for these in-person classes and do a fantastic job. The live classes allow for interaction with the instructor, and they are structured with an emphasis on the potential hazards associated with your local body of water."

Citizens who complete the Boating Basics course will receive a certificate in the mail after Troopers submit the individual's information to the Agency's Driver License Division. The Driver License Division will then add the vessel class to their Alabama Driver License. Please note that it may take up to 10 business days before the customer can go online to <u>alabamadl.alea.gov</u> or visit their nearest county probate office to purchase their updated Alabama Driver License. Children 12 years old or older are eligible for a vessel operator's license, however, they will not be able to operate alone until the age of 14.

For more information, or to enroll in a class, please see the schedule attached and contact the Marine Patrol instructor via the email provided. A one-time application fee of \$5 cash will be charged. There will be a \$36.25 issuance fee for the license.

For additional information regarding ALEA's Marine Patrol Division and course information, please visit: <u>Boating Education and Operator Certification/License | Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (alea.gov)</u>.



## ALEA's Marine Patrol Division Announces Additional Fall Boating Basics and License Courses

City	<b>Dates/Times</b>	Location	Instructor	Email
Jackson	Nov. 5 / 8 a.m 4 p.m. Dec. 3 / 8 a.m 4 p.m.	Jackson Fire Station 1 102 College Ave Jackson, AL 36545	Sr. Trooper Justin Sessions	justin.sessions@alea.gov
Orange Beach	Nov. 10 & 11 / 5 p.m 9 p.m. Dec. 7 & 8 / 5 p.m 9 p.m.	Orange Beach Fire Department Administration Building 25853 John M. Snook Drive Orange Beach, AL 36561	Sr. Trooper Jacob Manning	jacob.manning@alea.gov
Magnolia Springs	Nov. 12 / 8 a.m 4 p.m. Dec. 17 / 8 a.m 4 p.m.	Magnolia Springs Volunteer Fire Department 14809 Gates Ave. Magnolia Springs, AL 36555	Sr. Trooper Kenny Wade	kenny.wade@alea.gov
Evergreen	Nov. 5 & 19 / 8 a.m 4 p.m. Dec. 1, 2 & 3 / 8 a.m 4 p.m.	Herbert Volunteer Fire Department 29658 Hwy 84 Evergreen, AL 36401	Sr. Trooper Benjamin Pate	benjamin.pate@alea.gov