ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY
Think Smart Before

You Start
Spring Break

2023 Safety Reminders

Avoid driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you plan on consuming
alcohol, designate a sober driver in advance to get you home safely.

Remain attentive around large vehicles and semi-trucks. Large vehicles such as semi-trucks command a heavy
pres-ence on interstates. They have limited maneuverability, longer
stopping distances and bigger blind spots.

Expect traffic heavier than usual. Adjust travel plans to accommodate busier roadways
and waterways and leave a bit earlier. Avoid speeding, following vehicles too closely and
other dangerous behaviors on roadways.

Prepare your vehicle. Get your vehicle’s tires, brakes, exterior lights, battery, air filters,
wipers and fluid levels checked before you a leave for a trip. Keep an emergency kit
available. (Inflated spare tire, first aid kit, jumper cables, phone charger, etc.)

Buckle up — no matter how short your trip. Ensure all the vehicle’s occupants are
buckled up and children are utilizing a child restraint system. Car seats and boosters
provide protection for infants and children in a crash, yet car crashes are a leading cause
of death for children ages 1 to 13.

Don’t follow other vehicles too closely. “Following too close” is one of the leading
contributing factors behind crashes. Maintaining situational awareness and operating
under a defensive driving posture is critical in avoiding crashes especially during high
traffic periods.

Don’t drive distracted. Avoid talking or texting on your phone, eating and drinking, talking to people in your vehicle,
fiddling with the stereo, entertainment or navigation system.

Alabama’s Graduated Driver License Law:

16-year-old drivers may not have more than one non-family passenger in the car with them at any time.

They also cannot operate a motor vehicle between midnight and 6 a.m., unless they are:
Accompanied by a parent or legal guardian

Accompanied by a licensed adult, 21 years of age, or older, with parental consent
Going to or from work

Going to or from a school-sponsored event

Going to or from a religious-sponsored event

Driving due to a medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency
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Alabama’s GDL Law also applies to 17-year-old drivers licensed less than six months.
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