MONTGOMERY -- Play it safe this spring break season! Prepare for busier roadways and waterways as motorists make their way to beaches, lakes and other warm-weather destinations. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency offers the following spring break safety tips:
- ALEA’s Troopers will patrol the state’s roadways and waterways, enforce state laws and be available to assist motorists/boaters.
- This is a great time for parents to sit down with their teens to review Alabama’s traffic and boating laws, and to remind their teens to buckle up, obey speed limits, avoid texting and other distractions while driving, and use personal flotation devices (PFDs).
- Arrive safely: Driving through the night to Florida or other sunny destinations is common for spring breakers, but the National Safety Council says traffic death rates are three times greater at night than during the day. If night driving is a must, have at least one passenger stay awake to chat with the driver.
- Individuals who are younger than 21 should be closely monitored to prevent underage consumption of alcoholic beverages.
- Ensure teen drivers have a clear understanding of the state’s Graduated Driver License law, a three-stage licensing process that places certain restrictions on young drivers who need time to acquire experience before driving without supervision or restrictions:
- Stage I (learner’s permit): A teen is authorized to drive when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 21 or older who is occupying the front passenger seat.
- Stage II (restricted license): A 16- or 17-year-old who has passed the road skills test may drive without supervision, but he or she must not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other than parents, legal guardians or family members; must not use any handheld communication devices while driving; must not drive between midnight and 6 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 21 or older.
- Stage III (unrestricted license): A 17-year-old who has held a Stage II license for six months or longer may obtain an unrestricted license. Anyone who is age 18 or older may bypass the first two stages and obtain a Stage III license after passing the road skills test.
- Parents who plan to take their teens to one of ALEA’s Driver License Examining Offices to take written or road skills tests may want to schedule an appointment at https://www.schedulealdl.com/SelfScheduler/Default.aspx.