State Bureau of Investigation

The Alabama State Bureau of Investigation

The State Bureau of Investigation functions as the investigative, non-uniform division of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency and consist of three divisions: Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice Services, and the Alabama Fusion Center.

Each of the three divisions serve a specific purpose for providing assistance to city, county, state, federal, and foreign law enforcement agencies. Although the purpose of each division is unique, the organizational structure and collaboration between these divisions allow the State Bureau of Investigation to provide the highest quality of services to its law enforcement partners and citizens of Alabama.

The State Bureau of Investigation conducts investigations and provides assistance in the following areas: violent crime investigations, officer-involved shootings; in-custody death investigations; misuse of criminal justice information; agriculture, forestry and rural crimes investigations; fraud and theft investigations; alcohol, narcotics and tobacco enforcement and investigations; crime-scene processing; searches for missing persons and inmate escape; polygraph examinations; technical surveillance; computer forensics; hostage and crisis negotiations; marijuana eradication; child and elder exploitation; human trafficking investigations, and other investigations as requested by other law enforcement entities.

The men and women of the SBI strive to model the Bureau's core values of Duty, Integrity, and Valor at all times.