Protective Services

The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Protective Services

The Protective Services Division is comprised of three units – Capitol Patrol, Dignitary Protection, and Aviation. The Capitol Patrol Unit provides security for the State Capitol, Executive Mansion, and other state executive office buildings within the Capitol Complex in Montgomery, AL, as mandated by Section 32-2-100, Code of Alabama 1975. Dignitary Protection provides transportation and security to certain elected officials and visiting dignitaries to the state as mandated by Section 36-33-2, Code of Alabama 1975. The Aviation Unit consists of versatile aircraft with enhanced capabilities for rescue operations, tactical response, fire suppression, missing person searches, and manhunts. 

The mission of Protective Services is to provide a safe and secure environment for all protectees and state facilities during routine business and special events, as well as statewide aviation support 24/7. The protective environment is enhanced by resources within ALEA, including: Aviation, Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT), and Explosive Ordinance Disposal (EOD).