Department of Public Safety

The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Department of Public Safety

The Department of Public Safety (DPS), the uniform section of this agency, includes Driver License, Highway Patrol, and Marine Patrol Divisions. Although Driver License contains sworn personnel, most of the agency's Troopers are assigned to Highway and Marine Patrols.  Troopers' responsibilities with enforcing the laws, patrolling roadways and waterways throughout the state, and assisting city, county, state, and federal public safety partners in assorted initiatives throughout the year. Driver License requires testing and maintaining records on Alabama's licensed drivers, including such records as crash reports and traffic violation convictions. Each of DPS's divisions are dedicated to efficiently and effectively protecting and serving the citizens of Alabama.